## 101 NORTH CARSON STREET

CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701-3713

OFFICE: (775) 684-5670



1 STATE OF NEVADA WAY

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89119-4339

OFFICE: (702) 486-2500

## Office of the Governor

May 22, 2025

The Honorable Steve Yeager Speaker of the Nevada State Assembly 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Assembly Bill 306 of the 83rd Legislative Session

Dear Speaker Yeager:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Assembly Bill 306 ("AB 306"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to elections; requiring a county clerk in certain counties to establish a certain number of locations for a voter to return his or her mail ballot in a mail ballot drop box during the period between the last day for early voting and the day of a general election; authorizing the county clerk in counties establish such locations; certain to authorizing person, under certain circumstances, to return a mail ballot to a mail ballot established drop box at such a location behalf on of a voter; requiring mail ballot drop boxes to be monitored and secured; requiring the Secretary of State to establish requirements for monitoring and securing mail ballot drop boxes; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Nevada is already among the easiest states in the nation to cast a vote.

AB 306 appears to be well-intentioned but falls short of its stated goals while failing to guarantee appropriate oversight of the proposed ballot boxes or the ballots cast. I believe additional election reforms should be considered as part of a larger effort to improve election security, integrity and allow Nevada to declare winners more quickly.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it without my signature or approval.

Respectfully submitted,

JOE LOMBARDO

Governor of Nevada

## Enclosure

cc: The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure)
The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure)
The Honorable Francisco Aguilar, Secretary of State (without enclosure)
Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure)
Bonnie Borda Hoffecker, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure)
Diane Thornton, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure)
Asher Killian, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)